Diamond Valuations

*When you work with online diamond dealers, they usually begin by giving you a blind offer based on the information you provide them.This information falls into four categories famously used to value and describe diamonds:


Option 1: Diamond Buyers International

DBI logo

Do you have a professional certificate number, such as a GIA certificate? Simply fill out DBI’s short request form and get a free instant diamond valuation, along with an offer to sell your stone. This is the quickest and easiest way to get an estimate if you already know the specs on the diamond that you have. DBI is a 5-star company with great reviews and a professional reputation – read their review here or get a free valuation now.

Option 2: WP Diamonds


It’s always a good idea to get another offer for your diamond, and WP Diamonds is a great place to do it. They have a longer process, but with your certification they will know exactly what you have as well. If you do NOT have a professional diamond certification, their step-by-step process will help them provide you with a value estimate. They are also a reputable online dealer – read their review here or get a free valuation now.

Diamond Value and Appraisal Factors

The famous 4C’s of a diamond are the primary factors in determining its value. If you have your diamond professionally graded by the GIA or another organization, the 4C’s will be posted on your certification.

If you’re curious how exactly the prices change based on the different grades in the 4C’s, you can play with Diamond Karma’s diamond price evaluation calculator, which can give you an idea of the price of a diamond based on these factors. Below, we provide a bit of insight that goes into those actual calculations and how diamond professionals grade and price diamonds.


Questions regarding your diamond’s cut include the shape of the diamond and the proportion compared to the certified standard. Popular shapes include Princess, Brilliant Round Shape, Cushion, Emerald and Asscher. The GIA cut grading system ranks a diamond on a scale based on its light performance, proportion factors and finish. These factors are determined by a certified gemologist and awarded a grade of Excellent, Very Good, Good or Fair.


Here you will need to know the body color of your diamond. Colors range from D (colorless) and continue through the alphabet to Z (most yellow.) This scale measures how much your diamond’s body color deviates from the whitest possible (colorless) color. A set of master comparison stones is used with a sample at each grade.


The clarity refers to how many imperfections the gem has. Imperfections are called inclusions when they are internal and blemishes when external. The GIA has a standardized system used to evaluate and grade each diamond.

You will need to know if your diamond is:

*Each diamond is inspected under the magnification of a loupe of 10X magnification.

Carat Weight

 Diamonds are sold by carat (ct*). Typical diamonds range in size from .05 carats to 3.0 carats. The average total carat size for an engagement or wedding ring is 1.18 according to the Engagement and Wedding Ring Report 2011. Obviously, the larger the carat, the more valuable the diamond.

* not to be mistaken with karat (kt.), used to measure the quality of gold